Posted by: rocketbride | May 3, 2013

30 x 30

I became lightly involved with the David Suzuki foundation a few years ago, in that I gave them regular donations and occasionally signed their petitions and answered their surveys (when I could be bothered to do so). Last year they challenged families to get outside for a half-hour each day, something I just couldn’t commit to. This year I felt much the same way, but I decided to try it anyway.

Day one was Wednesday, and I forgot all about it. Yesterday I wandered around the backyard and the park past the backyard with Maggie, who was in her pjs and a pair of sandals. I even took pictures, charmed by the light. Today I ran, an experience slightly marred by digestive problems half-way through that forced me to walk a good portion of my route.

It hasn’t been the most successful initiative for me yet, and I haven’t gotten the family on board, but I am making progress. The weather has been shamelessly beautiful and warm, so it’s not like I have excuses to stay in my home cave once I’m released from my work cave. I’ve stayed behind after the official end of school more than 5 hours this week. Unpaid, of course. Not to mention hours spent writing and marking tests when I’d rather be setting up my hammock. Somebody owes me a whole lot of lounging.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 372 other followers

