Posted by: rocketbride | May 17, 2012

dr. obvious strikes again!

We saw a counsellor tonight. It was one of those things where, when it’s over, everything seems so obvious. “He does better with positive structure? Give him positive structure.” Oh, yeah, that. And the advice to spend more one-on-one time with Blake? Yeah, that makes sense.

I suppose the other thing I like about seeking help is that it reminds me of how lucky I am. When I honestly take stock of our life and the ways in which we are good at it, I become so grateful. It’s easy to give in to despair in the moment and forget that there are people with real problems: addiction, poverty, illness, lack of shelter, abuse. I’ve got a kid who gets mad when he can’t play his video games and seems shaken by a new sister after 8 years of only-childhood. Pretty sure we’re going to be alright.


I had a pretty good day in other respects as well. Maggie has been sleeping the last few nights, touch wood, and she also had a good long nap in the morning instead of being woken for activities. We had a long walk in the sun to the library, where we sang baby songs and hung out with some moms from my exercise class. On the way we saw a family of groundhogs, living under a shed and a woodpile in someone’s backyard. It was pretty great.

Even the part where I was trying to figure out what to do with her soiled clothes when I had no backup was fine: solving these kinds of problems makes me feel tough and capable, even if I have to run her pants through the hand dryer so that they can be worn home and zip up her sweater over a bare chest. At least her socks were spared.

Leave a Reply

Categories

