Posted by: rocketbride | July 7, 2012

life’s a beach

Every once in awhile, Sarah & I scheme on how to get our families together. As I like to say, it’s not easy to get us all in the same place at the same time, but it’s always easy-going. Sometimes we go there, sometimes they come here, but it always involves a lot of food and a lot of noise as our four kids and two babies compete for airtime. Today was our turn to host, as we’ve been bragging about our driveyard oregano and back yard hammock, so the caravan came to us. Mason outdid himself: smoked pulled pork with coleslaw and lamb souvlaki with tzatziki. Ice cream for the kids. Beer and wine for the adults. The two middle kids didn’t eat much, so the older set ate their leftovers while the babies squawked for attention. Everyone piled into the hammock, and then we all went to the beach. Yes, the beach! My favourite summertime place, where I go to forget about my troubles. Unfortunately I was a bit too uptight about my hair and worried about my miserable nap-less baby to fully forget those troubles, but I tried.

There’s something momentous and awe-inspiring and a little scary about the energy we create when we get all the kids together. I wonder what it’ll be like when the youngest set are walking and talking and not just splashing and sleeping.

Also, I continue to be besotted with retro camera apps.

the beach

kiki!

the beach

july 7

Leave a Reply

Categories

