Posted by: rocketbride | August 22, 2012

maybe i shouldn’t have got a tattoo on my forehead

We woke up late today, which I judge by what’s playing on Radio 2. If it’s contemporary Canadian and “some handsome Newfoundlander barking at [me]“, I know I’m right on time. If it’s classical music, I know something’s wrong. Waking up late makes me feel rushed from thing to thing, so I don’t miss it as much as I used to when Blake was little.

Today we showed union solidarity, worked out with Nic and lost another baseball game. Our union is preparing us for job action in the fall, so we were encouraged to show up at a rally protesting the firing of Zellers employees due to the Target takeover. As I was ignomiously fired from Zellers many years ago (yes, it was Zellers! The truth is out!) I had to overcome a basic aversion to helping anyone involved. Then I realized that I wasn’t helping the people who told my temp agency to fire me after I went home on Friday, so I felt better. Maggie also accompanied us, and she is becoming quite the rally pro. If only we had an OSSTF shirt to wear.

I’m trying to take it easy on the legs, seeing that I added shin splints to my complaints on Monday night. I still want to work out with Nic while I can, but I had fallen into the habit of doubling up some days, so I’m trying to stop that. If everything this week goes as planned, I’ll be dancing on Saturday and running on Sunday. I need to fit one more run into the week. Looks like tomorrow is it. We’re getting Blake back earlier than I had thought, so that will be a fun organizational challenge.


We’ve been watching a documentary called “The Other F-Word“. It’s about punk musicians who are fathers. It’s moving, compelling, and manages to be as much about the forces that make people “punk” as about the changes that happen when they accept the role of fatherhood. What I find really interesting, though, is not just the contrasts between the anti-authoritarianism of punk and the acceptance of parental authority, but also the way that dads still have the choice of opting in, no matter what they do for a living. I feel like a doc of punk mothers would be a lot less interesting, not just because there are fewer high-profile lady punks, but because there’s less of a choice for moms. At root, these guys are doing what thousands of men do: tour most of the time to support their family while their partners wrestle with the day-to-day parenting. What was really great about the documentary is the link they drew between the constructive acts of parenting as a logical conclusion to the destructive impulses of punk rock. They were abused or ignored by their parents, and they have taken the chance to make a better life for their own kids. Pretty inspiring.

Leave a Reply

Categories

