Posted by: rocketbride | August 27, 2012

healthy drinks

Just spent over an hour writing on four perfectly good undershirts with sharpies in preparation of tomorrow’s rally at the Provincial Legislature. Signs are a bit of an engineering challenge for me, but t-shirts are easy and sharpie up well.


Today I got an iced tea after my run class. I don’t usually drink anything after a run but water, but I parked my car on the far side of the Starbucks and walking past the doors was too much temptation. While I was ordering, I noticed two others from my running group, and we had a quick conversation about caffeine and sensitivity sparked by someone ordering coffee at an hour that would have kept me up all night. I mentioned that my older son has started taking an unhealthy interest in all the Coke I drink, so it’s probably time to stop.

“Yeah,” said the clerk as he handed me my large iced tea, “it could cause diabetes.”

“Well, it’s Diet Coke. But there’s all the aspartame. That’s not good,” I said apologetically as I left.

I had sat down in my car before I realized the ludicrousness of this conversation. A man who spends 6 hours a day selling people sugary snacks and drinks – who just handed me a large sugary drink – thinks I should give up Diet Coke for my health. As much as I don’t like the idea of putting aspartame into my body, it is a very well-studied food additive, and so far there hasn’t been much found to damn it. Sugar, on the other hand, has been called a toxin for years. This conversation was the equivalent of a person who had just sold me a pack of cigarettes warning me about over-using my cell phone, lest I get brain cancer. Give me a break.

And with that, I’m off to give myself a break. I spent most of today in waiting rooms, getting my eyes and teeth examined and bolting food in between times. The bed calls.

Leave a Reply

Categories

