Posted by: rocketbride | August 30, 2012

you can’t just say ‘arrr’ and make everything all right

Today I took Blake to his first proper eye exam. This is the third time we’ve been to the eye doctor’s this week: Monday for Mason & myself (2 ½ hours of fun), Wednesday for 45 minutes of waiting past the appointment time before I split for the baseball game, and today for an hour. They found that he is nearsighted in both eyes and requires glasses. They also found that he’s colour-blind, something I started suspecting in Montreal when he called a purple pacifier blue.

To say that he’s not thrilled with the news is an understatement. He was only kept from pitching a fit by the fact that we are just too busy to get him fitted for glasses right now and have to wait a few days. He’ll get a chance to digest the news by then. After his appointment I finally got a chance to pick up the glasses I ordered on Monday, and when we were waiting for the fitting, something came back to me about when I was his age and started wearing glasses.

I not only was diagnosed with near-sightedness when I was 8, I also had a really bad lazy eye (which I still have to some degree, as you can see in this picture of me from Sammystock last weekend). My eye doctor recommended I wear a patch over the strong eye to strengthen the weak eye. This was not a pirate patch. This was a peach-coloured bandaid that made my eye itch, and I hated it with a passion. I was supposed to wear it on Saturdays, but I did my best not to remind my parents and I got away without it many weeks. Eventually I had surgery when I was 11, and it got a lot better. Still needed glasses, though.

It’s been a long time since I thought about those patches, and how much I hated them. I now suspect that my parents hated them too, and that we were all trying not to remind anyone of the patch requirement, lest they see me moping around in my gross, itchy bandaid. Glasses can’t possibly be that bad.

Leave a Reply

Categories

