Posted by: rocketbride | September 21, 2012

old lady coming through!

I’m definitely feeling the effects of last night’s dance class. It’s my first late class in nearly a year, and I’m getting used to the difference in gravity now that I don’t have a big weight in my abdomen. We are in a new studio, which features the added annoyance of music coming from the bar next door, not to mention goofy smokers trying to look at us when we’re trying to get our dance on. I don’t know what’s worse: sweating in the studio, or choking in the smoke when we prop open the door.

That said, I had a good time. I bungled the lead a few times, but I felt pretty good about my emerging ability to do calibrated spins. Emerging as in, I can’t really do them yet, but since it’s been three years of not being able to do them, I’m fairly reconciled to this state. Also, I’m the closest I’ve ever been to getting to a place of semi-competence. So that’s exciting.


I went on a run today at lunch, because I was pretty sure that Brampton Drunken Knitting would leave me no time or inclination to exercise tonight. I ended up running around the track with a gym class, who welcomed me kindly and allowed me to heckle them when they chose to walk. Sometimes I really enjoy being back. Gently making fun of teenagers is a definite side-benefit to my job that I just can’t get as a stay-at-home mom.

Leave a Reply

Categories

