Posted by: rocketbride | October 18, 2012

with extra sprinkles

Tonight was Parent-Teacher Night. It’s not my least favourite aspect of my job, but it’s never fun: I get to stay at the school until my bedtime, drive home in the dark (and today in the rain) so that I can go to bed and come back less than 12 hours from when I left. Tonight I had really good interviews, and I didn’t make any of my usual bad decisions: I didn’t drink a night-Coke, I marked industriously instead of wasting time, and I didn’t bother with makeup. I was trying to end things early so that I could go to my dance class, but it didn’t work out. Ah well. I’d rather come in to school feeling prepared after missing a chance at calibrated spins than come in feeling panicked and out of sorts after a class on gawazi.

(Calibrated spins = dizzying; gawazi = fun!)

If you’re keeping score, this is the second time this month that I’ve chosen teacherly duty over dance class. I would like one hell of a big cookie when this is all over.

Leave a Reply

Categories

