Posted by: rocketbride | November 1, 2012

she’s such a little trooper!

We had a pretty great Hallowe’en this year. I think this is the first year I’ve had a new costume since I was pregnant with Blake. Nine years is a long time to piece together ideas from what I have kicking around, but since I tend to buy clothes towards the wacky end of the spectrum, it’s worked out. However, I was thrilled to have a good solid idea this year: if Maggie must go as her namesake, surely it is my destiny to go as her cartoon mother. And so it was:

me and my girl

Marge and Maggie Simpson!

Making Maggie’s costume was relatively simple: someone who had done this already wrote about the Simplicity pattern that would set me up with a bunting and a hat. All I had to do was put it together and fashion something for the head, as I wasn’t about to use sponges. It was as I was making and stuffing spikes on my sick day last Friday that I remembered Stacy talking about how hard it was to make her spiky fleece sweaters. Fortunately I’ve had a lot of practice sewing limbs onto stuffed toys at this point. This made the job a lot easier than it would have been otherwise.

maggie laughed

My only regret is that the long hiatus between sewing projects has rusted over my skills, and the seaming is quite clumsy. Also, fleece has two sides? And I didn’t realize this until the pieces were seamed together, creating a raglan look? Oh well. The only cure for clumsy sewing is more sewing. And better light.

the snuggly suit

For my own costume, I was lucky I had the idea on the way to the fabric store, because getting it was such an ordeal that I never could have managed two trips. I borrowed the store tape-measure and sat Maggie on the cutting table so that I could figure out how much green material I needed. I was lucky enough to score a big square of green t-shirt material which was just begging to be sewn into a tube. Hem at the bottom and an elastic casing at the top and I was done. (Next time I figure out the zig zag stitch and get some clear straps, because I was worried about the top coming down all day long. Since I plan to wear this costume again, I can revisit and improve.) On my way out of the fabric store I spotted perfect red shoes. Too bad they never really stretched out like the saleslady promised.

The wig was fun at first: I crocheted a huge sack out of screamingly acrylic materials. Mason & I tried it on constantly while I was making it, taking turns saying lines from the show. Getting it in shape and anchored to my head was another problem: balloons are too slippery and tissue is too heavy. So my mom worked out a combo of the two, and pinned it all in place. By the end of the school day I was more than happy to take it off so that I could fit in the car.

The last thing I made was my necklace. I ended up buying red paint and floral foam balls at the craft store on the windiest night of the year, and I painted them on Tuesday night when I was hanging out at my parents. Stringing them on a thin piece of yarn and tying it up was the easiest part of the whole costume.

The students enjoyed it, but the staff thought I was amazing. (It helped that the staff knew who I was; many students had no idea who I was supposed to be.) Mason obliged me by bringing in my little Maggie at the end of the day, and we were able to have our picture with the whole staff. I also jury-rigged a few headpieces for my boys so that we could have a family picture on the couch.

the family simpson

Then Blake got dressed up as Mario and went off into the night, collecting candy in lieu of gold coins. I stayed home and crocheted a spiderweb. I never get the chance to make decorations in advance; the best I can do is make things in the lull after the event. It’ll be an awesome decoration next year, when my heavy wig and tight shoes will be a memory.

it's a mario!

Leave a Reply

Categories

