Posted by: rocketbride | November 3, 2012

knit knit knit knit knit

Sometimes I forget how much I like knitting. And then there are days like today when I just wallow in it. A few years back I started a cardigan. I had bought the yarn the year before that, and I tried to calculate everything myself. Needless to say, I made a few significant errors and ended up ripping the darn thing four times. When I found out that the Purple Purl had a class on exactly this subject, I couldn’t wait to sign up.

So today I spent 4 hours with Glenna C., a girl named Peggy, a bag full of yarn, and my very noisy baby. We did all of the math together, and then re-wrote the whole pattern so that I don’t have to worry that I’m forgetting a step. The sweater is the brilliant Elizabeth Zimmerman’s yoked cardigan that uses your own measurements and gauge to create a gorgeous custom sweater. Now all I have to do is knit it.

I’ve felt a little behind in terms of my project deadlines. It’s been a non-stop procession of events this fall, some of which I have failed spectacularly. There’s a local art installation that needs knitted squares; I have two done but haven’t finished sewing on flowers. I tried to get a milk carton done for my departing doppelganger, but couldn’t finish it before she left. I knit a vortex cloth for Juuki and lost it on the morning of her wedding day. I finished Destiny’s wedding present but haven’t had a chance to give it to her. I was making a sweet pair of pants for Maggie’s birthday, but I had to rip back the waistband three times and it’s still on the needles.

Right now, I have two washcloths and an entire skein to knit into a sweater before my next deadline, which is a week from today. And the main colour from the washcloths has gone missing. Gah. Despite this, I’m still enjoying the chance to be at work and catch up on all of my needlework. It still makes me happy.

Leave a Reply

Categories

