Posted by: rocketbride | November 24, 2012

and now he’s even older

Today my mom turns 59, an occasion we celebrated with fish n’ chips, chocolate cake & photos of Cuba. Well, one photo at least. It turns out that Sage has impeccable taste in photography, and a few months ago he noticed a woman selling prints in the Distillery. He wanted a picture of a green hot rod, and I went to another craft fair last Saturday to pick out a picture of laundry in Cuba for my mom. She went to Cuba on a medical mission years ago, and the whole thing just reminded me of her.

The chocolate cake was Mason’s contribution. I got the recipe from Teija, who got it from Hershey’s, and he made it this morning. We learned a lot of valuable lessons about layer cakes, mostly by having to reconstruct the bottom round and hoping for the best once it was covered in icing. Good cake, though. You know it’s a hit when there’s not even a token attempt to send the left-overs home with us.

We spent the rest of the day hanging out in the house. My dad came over and helped us with the Christmas lights, which kept the boys occupied for a fair chunk of the afternoon. I assembled baskets from Ikea in my latest attempt to beat back the chaos of my possessions, and Sage helped me take Blake’s old toys from a storage bucket to a more kid-friendly basket-home.

I’m finding it hard to keep up with Blake’s maturation. One of the mixed blessings of his personality is his introversion. He can be hard to talk to, hard to reach, but the upside was that he was didn’t really care if something was too young for him. In the past year he’s asked to get rid of all his Toy Story stuff (and there’s a lot of it), and most of his toys. All of this stuff was living in a storage box until today. And while I knew he had outgrown it long ago, it still gives me a pang to see how fast he went from young kid to…slightly older kid.

I feel like 8 is the year my personality began. He turns nine in two weeks. This is going to be a very interesting few months.

Leave a Reply

Categories

