Posted by: rocketbride | December 26, 2012

paint up or shut up

I love Christmas, and I sort of dread when it’s over. As soon as Blake leaves with his dad on Boxing Day, a deep quiet settles over the house, and I often overcompensate by catching up on things I’ve put off. This year I’m getting ready for Project Piano, so I have to do some major re-arranging of my living room to make space, and I need to get off my patoot and paint at least a few walls of the livingroom so that I don’t have to paint around a sheet-draped piano. Most of the house has been the same yellowy beige since I moved in five years ago. I’ve always hated it, but I’ve managed to put off dealing with it until now. With a piano on the way, it’s time to paint up or shut up. So I spent a fair amount of today cleaning up the tiny bit of detritus created by Christmas, then pulling everything off one shelf. I got dust up my nose and a whole new appreciation for upright shelves as a miracle of storage.


When I wasn’t hauling books down the stairs, I was playing with Maggie. She’s singing a fair bit these days: just two songs, but with feeling. This morning she sang “Twinkle Twinkle” when she’d had enough milk, not bothering to pull off the breast and waving her foot around with her hand. Later, as she lunged from me to Mason and back again, she sang “Zoom Zoom Zoom.”

It’s a good time to be alive. She may have pooped twice today, but she’s still worth it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

