Posted by: rocketbride | January 17, 2013

the green yarn at the end of the pier

I should have realized that there was no way I would be able to write a journal entry last night. We were supposed to join the union in picketing a local MPP’s office right after school; when that was done we were off to see Sage and the gang at Lettuce. Last night was Laura’s last day working at the store, and knit night was a huge humid gathering to send her off. Since she didn’t want to speak, I spoke for her, wishing only that I had wine and was able to toast her properly. With the ownership changed and Laura moved on, it truly is the end of the first Lettuce Knit era. This one coming might be even better, but I’ll always have a sweet spot in my heart for the one just passed.

Ah well. Even knitting, that most grounded and ancient of past-times, has changed many times since I first plunged into the world of social groups. Women have had babies, moved away, developed enmities and simply stopped bothering to come out. New stores crop up, new people move in to take spots, and everything keeps moving on, stitch by stitch, borne ceaselessly into the past.

(Sorry. I just watched Midnight in Paris with my class and I’m a little smitten with Tom Hiddleston-as-F. Scott.)

Leave a Reply

Categories

