Posted by: rocketbride | January 3, 2014

we’re the mesopotamians

As my vacation winds down, I have begun to develop an anxiety that neatly echoes the feelings I had when set loose to get ready for Christmas. I’m not ready. I haven’t marked nearly enough. Despite sleeping a lot (possibly related to the anxiety itself), I don’t feel rested. The return of school brings with it issues I had comfortably postponed until the New Year, and it feels like a big wave is about to break over my head and drown me.

That being said, I should probably be marking, rather than complaining about it.

rocket

Yesterday we did the only outing I had planned for the break: a visit to the ROM to see the departing Mesopotamia exhibit. Unlike last year’s dinosaur binge, this was more about the parents than the kids, so we were pleasantly surprised with the amount of patience both Blake and Maggie displayed. Maggie fell in love with two duck-shaped weights, while Blake spread himself in front of every display case. My own favourite part was the story cylinders; in fact so many of the artefacts were based on shapes like the writing or the carving that I just wanted to touch everything by the time we were done. This worked out well, as travelling through museums with kids gives you lots of excuse to stop by the activity stations.

The only downside to the day was that I came home exhausted, too tired to do anything but crawl into bed as soon as the kids were taken care of. Today is shaping up to be another low-energy day, which means that the weekend will bear the brunt of my marking. Awesome.

Responses

  1. Hi there! My name is Heather and I was just wondering if you would be willing to answer a question about your blog! Please email me whenever you get a free moment at Lifesabanquet1(at)gmail(dot)com 🙂

  2. Just realized how long it’s been since I started reading your blog, way back in the days before you got married to The Boy. 🙂 I’m sure you have less time and inclination for it now, but I hope you’re happy and living well.

  3. Also, just looked at the ticker and saw today is Maggie’s birthday. Happy birthday, Maggie!


Leave a Reply

Categories

