Posted by: rocketbride | January 4, 2016

palaeontologists suspect she stood three inches tall

Probably the most embarrassing thing that happened on NYE was that I seemed to trigger a slow-moving pity party that took out Ryan North as a casual observer. I shudder when I think of it.

This is the same conversation that sparked this project, by the way. Stacy was encouraging me to write more, and I brushed her off with the old, “I don’t have any confidence in my own writing.” Her rebuttal was, “no writer has confidence, ask Ryan.”

Ryan: “Of course I do, otherwise I wouldn’t send it out.” Oops.

I immediately began to feel guilty that we had manoeuvred the voice of T Rex into giving me a pep talk. I wasn’t even a needy drunk! There are only two things that make this ok: the fact that Stacy was willing to bring in a heavyweight to shake me out of my cowardice, and this piece of advice: “I recommend writing a comic about dinosaurs for 10 years.”

“And then you get name-checked in an XKCD answer about lightning safety,” I said.

Man, I don’t even have height on my side.

Leave a Reply

Categories

