Posted by: rocketbride | January 9, 2016

you just gotta reach your thresh hold and run past it!

I’m not the kind of runner who needs music to go, mostly because I’m the kind of person who forgets to charger her phone, and thus has to do without half the time anyway. For awhile I ran with a transistor radio, which was perfect: I had a pair of batteries to count on, and I listen to the radio a fair amount anyway because it gives me a break from my own taste. Also, sometimes there are longer pieces about juggalos.

My radio stopped working in the summer, and I have yet to find a suitable replacement. In my group runs there is often conversation, but it all depends on your pace, and when you’re out there for more than an hour, it’s easy to find yourself on your own. So I have to entertain myself.

In addition to working through lesson plans, I sometimes daydream about celebrity run partners. After seeing Star Trek: Into Darkness, I decided that it would be cool to run with Cumberbatch, but I slowly realized that we would have nothing to talk about. Well, he’s got a baby now, so we could talk about that.

After seeing Montage of Heck, I became obsessed with the idea of turning points. I feel that Kurt’s lifelong bad health didn’t make his mental health any better, so for a week I ran with the idea of teaching Cobain how to run. He would be aggressive and rude, because he knew how to manipulate people into leaving him alone, but Krist and I would tag team him until he started to get better. It might not have been enough to save him – Robin Williams was a cyclist – but it was kind of a nice little dream. I’m told that Strombo has said similar things, that he would just want to have dinner with Kurt and try to bring him back to himself.

Anyway, all of this is a very long way to get to yesterday, when I was binging on YouTube videos after a long & exhausting week. A couple of things have been pointing me toward HBO’s Girls (the cover girl of my Christmas stocking magazine is one of the four, my favourite new character from the Force Awakens is a boyfriend), so with no way to see the episodes themselves, I found some clips. Including this one, which is a more likely version of me changing someone’s life through running (except I wear more clothes and don’t barter for ice cream).

Leave a Reply

Categories

