Posted by: rocketbride | June 10, 2017

tutu disappointing

Eight months ago I signed up to run a half marathon tomorrow. I will not be running a half marathon tomorrow, for a few reasons. The first one is that my delightful cousin counter-scheduled her much-anticipated wedding shower on the same day, and I couldn’t figure out a way to hop off Toronto Island and get to a fancy ladies’ event in the same day, let alone on time. I tried to sell the spot, but no dice. I let my training stagnate, an easy decision when my stomach was not only siphoning sleep every night but showing up around the 3rd kilometre of my practice runs, giving me cramps and generally torching my motivation.

My feelings were further complicated when Toronto Island flooded. I was hoping for a cancellation/deferral, but they just moved the venue. As my spot stubbornly refused to sell, I entertained brief fantasies of just running the fucking thing. Who cared if I could finish the half, I’d just jump into the 5k. Oh, the 5k sold out? Still possible.

Today I’ve been floating around in a headachey daze, as my sleep debt all came due last night when my new meds kicked in, and I couldn’t get out of bed. 13 and a half hours of sleep later and I’m just not making good decisions today. So when I finally got around to checking out the possibility of changing events or whatever, I discovered that I had missed the end of packet pick up by roughly 90 minutes, and if I wanted to run I would be even more guerrilla than I had planned.

It’s a bummer, not just because I essentially set fire to $75 last summer chasing a cheap tutu that would never be mine. My crummy trailing record of late is just another side effect of the garbage way my stomach has been since the start of April, and I’m getting frustrated with all of the little thefts. I haven’t felt well for more than brief periods for months, I drink peppermint tea like it’s my job, and I spend the early hours before my alarm goes off praying for sleep, and if not sleep, that Mason won’t try to hug me when my stomach is at its angriest.

“I’m on warm milk and laxatives.” – “Penny Royal Tea”

I feel you, Kurdt. I feel you.

On the other hand, I had a suprise visit from therapy dogs on Friday, who remind me not to take myself too seriously. Nicky and Icon, meet everyone. Should I get a dog?

Responses

  1. My daughter has abdominal migraines. While you search for a cause, maybe Zofran is your friend?


Leave a Reply

Categories

